Students on Healy Lawn
General News
Policy Perspectives
Student Experience

Meet the 2023-2024 Newmark Scholars

The Craig Newmark Veterans Scholarship Fund increases access to a McCourt School education for active-duty servicemembers, veterans and military-connected students, and deepens the impact they have in public policy.

Three incoming students at the McCourt School of Public Policy have been selected as Craig Newmark Scholars for academic year 2023-2024. The Craig Newmark Veterans Scholarship Fund , which provides scholarships in a public policy education for active-duty service members, veterans and military-connected students, is made possible through a generous gift from Craig Newmark, which has also provided funding for our 2022-2023 returning Newmark Scholars: Alekhya Chaparala (MPP’24), Kory Hasenoehrl (MPP’23), Kristen Soderlund (MPP’24) and Gabrielle Topacio (MPP’24).

Alexandra Dutch Garland (MPM’24)

After growing up with family in the military, Alexandra Dutch spent 10 years working in the public service sector with the Federal Reserve. She received her B.S. in economics at Northeastern University and received a master’s degree from Boston College. A military spouse to a U.S. Army combat medic, she has a passion for volunteer work.

Qifan Lin (MPP’25)

Qifan Lin has worked as a food inspector and a police officer since receiving a B.A. in telecommunication and media studies from Pennsylvania State University. He is eager to navigate challenges with a cohort that shares his commitment to public policy that promotes positive social changes.

Travis Thornton (MPM’24)

Travis Thorton spent more than seven years as a Navy nuclear surface warfare officer before joining Booz Allen Hamilton in 2010 in a role supporting Department of Defense and Veterans Affairs programs. He received an MBA from George Mason University in 2012 and a project management professional certification in 2015.

McCourt School News
Newmark Scholars
Policy Perspectives Fall 2023